Clean Air Task Force

Clean Air Task Force Logo
Clean Air Task Force Logo
Good Food Institute - Effective donations

Political and technological change

The Clean Air Task Force (CATF) is a non-profit climate protection organization that campaigns for political and technological change to reduce greenhouse gas emissions in power generation, oil and gas production, industry and transport.

CATF often plays a pioneering role and focuses on issues that are still neglected by other environmental and climate protection organizations. In the 1990s, one of CATF campaigns led to a reduction of more than 70% in emissions from coal-fired power plants in the USA. Later CATF successfully campaigned for additional regulation of oil and gas production to limit methane emissions, launched a campaign for clean diesel vehicles in 2005, and most recently introduced the Inflation Reduction Act 2022 in the USA, the most comprehensive investment plan ever adopted by the US Congress. 

Founders Pledge, a leading provider of evaluations of climate protection organizations, estimates that every euro donated to CATF will lead to a reduction of more than one ton of CO2 .

The problem

Fossil fuels still account for over 85% of primary energy consumption worldwide.[1] At the same time, humanity's energy requirements continue to rise.[2] In order to achieve the climate targets of the Paris Agreement and limit the damage caused by climate change, global energy systems must be largely decarbonized. To achieve this, it is necessary to replace fossil fuels with low CO2forms of energy generation.

In all likelihood, the massive expansion of renewable energies, to which Germany has made an important contribution through the energy transition, will not be enough. The risk of such a strategy of relying exclusively on wind and solar worldwide is simply too high for humanity.

Further measures are therefore necessary, although their promotion is still being neglected. These include, for example, keeping methane emissions from oil and natural gas production as low as possible. However, this also includes the development and use of low-carbon or carbon-free energy technologies that can reduce or even completely eliminate emissions from the energy, industrial and transport sectors, such as CO2capture and storage (CCS) or next-generation renewable energies, such as advanced geothermal energy, modern nuclear power plants of the so-called IV. generation, and carbon-free fuels.

The solution

CATF focuses on developing additional, pragmatic options for low-carbon or carbon-free energy and fuel production and improving the political framework conditions for this. Through studies, initiatives and opinion leadership CATF is advancing its concerns with a combination of research, communication and policy advice. In doing so CATF considers itself to be non-partisan and open to technology and is globally oriented.

The work of CATF includes, for example, the following objectives:

  • Stringent CO2-limits for gas and coal-fired power plants in the USA;
  • Enabling the commercial development and deployment of novel low- and zero-carbon energy technologies in power generation, industry and transportation; and 
  • The drastic reduction of climate-damaging super pollutants such as methane emissions from the oil and gas industry and soot from diesel vehicles, shipping and biomass combustion.

CATF has already achieved great success in the past. In the USA CATF for example, played a significant role in the introduction of tax credits for the storage of CO2which in the Inflation Reduction Act 2022 were expanded once again. CATF was also part of the preparation of the Global Methane Pledge which for the first time created a global effort to combat methane emissions. Building on these successes CATF is working to create further innovation-promoting framework conditions for carbon-free technologies. 

The industrial processing of oil and gas also results in high methane emissions, which are particularly harmful to the climate. The CATF has successfully fought for stricter regulation in this area.
Armond Cohen - President and founder of the Clean Air Task Force

The effect

According to calculations of the initiative Founders Pledge the previous work of CATF contributed to the fact that approx. 116 million tons of CO2-equivalents (CO2e) could be avoided. In addition, the measures have also led to a reduction in emissions of other pollutants, which has prevented an estimated 26,000 premature deaths from air pollution.

Founders Pledge expects that the future work of CATF will be cost-effective.[3] On the basis of CATF's contribution to the introduction of the tax credit 45Q in the USA Founders Pledge calculated, under conservative assumptions, costs of $1.63 per ton of CO2e for the work of CATF purely for the USA. Due to the effect that the tax credits have internationally, these fall to well below $1 per ton of CO2e in a global context. 

Assuming that the work of CATF is only one tenth as effective as the project at 45Q, then this results in costs of approximately $1 per ton of CO2e. So everyone contributes CATF donated contributes approximately 1 ton of CO2e to be saved.

The organization

The Clean Air Task Force was founded in 1996 as a charitable non-profit organization based in Boston with the aim of working to reduce greenhouse gases and other pollutants.

Since its foundation CATF has supported legislators and regulatory authorities in the USA, as well as Canada and Mexico, to create the political framework for a CO2-and clean energy generation. In recent years CATF has developed into a global organization and now employs more than 100 people at various locations worldwide. 

The experts from highly effective climate protection organizations Founders Pledge , Giving Green both recommend CATF as a top organization.


Blog articles

  • Protecting the climate: 2023 Review
    Protecting the climate: 2023 Review

    Effective climate protection in 2023: a review of the work and successes of our top recommendations in the area of climate protection.

  • COP28 is over. Now what?
    COP28 is over. Now what?

    The most effective climate protection organizations have once again made a valuable contribution at COP28. Donations work!

  • Keeping a cool head
    Keeping a cool head

    A portrait of Lee Beck, who is looking for climate solutions outside the mainstream for the climate protection organization Clean Air Task Force (CATF).

Sources

[1] ↑ Global direct primary energy consumption. Our World in Data. https://ourworldindata.org/grapher/global-primary-energy?stack Mode=relative.

[2] ↑ International Energy Outlook 2023, U.S. Energy Information Administration. https://www.eia.gov/outlooks/ieo/. October 2023.

[3] ↑ Conservative impact analysis example of innovation in neglected tech, in: A guide to the changing landscape of high-impact climate philanthropy, p. 116. Founders Pledge. https://assets.ctfassets.net/x5sq5djrgbwu/7eEpX4UcKNEy6LUDhf2B05/735518c277987ad5ad91f096b1fdc2a7/A_guide_to_the_changing_landscape_of_high-impact_climate_philanthropy.pdf. 2021. In addition, for the original calculations also Climate Change Cause Area ReportFounders Pledge, 2018 and the accompanying Calculation model.

Clean Air Task Force

Clean Air Task Force

Politischer und technologischer Wandel

Die Clean Air Task Force (CATF) ist eine gemeinnützige Klimaschutz-Organisation, die sich für politischen und technologischen Wandel einsetzt, um den Ausstoß von Treibhausgasen in der Stromerzeugung, in der Öl- und Gasproduktion, in der Industrie und im Verkehr zu reduzieren.

Ein technologieoffener Vorreiter

CATF spielt oft eine Vorreiterrolle und konzentriert sich auf Themen, die von anderen Umwelt- und Klimaschutzorganisationen jeweils noch vernachlässigt werden. In den 1990er Jahren hat eine von CATF konzipierte und mitgestaltete Kampagne dazu geführt, dass die Emissionen von Kohlekraftwerken in den USA um mehr als 70% sanken. Später hat sich CATF erfolgreich für zusätzliche Regulierungen im Rahmen der Öl- und Erdgasförderung eingesetzt, um deren Methanausstoß zu begrenzen, im Jahr 2005 eine Kampagne für saubere Dieselfahrzeuge gestartet und zuletzt den Inflation Reduction Act 2022 in den USA unterstützt, den umfassendsten Investitionsplan, den der US-amerikanische Kongress je verabschiedet hat. 

Founders Pledge, ein führender Anbieter für Evaluierungen von Klimaschutz-Organisationen, schätzt, dass jeder an CATF gespendete Euro zu einem Rückgang von mehr als einer Tonne CO2 führt.

Das Problem

Der Anteil fossiler Energien am Primärenergieverbrauch beträgt weltweit immer noch über 85 Prozent.[1] Gleichzeitig steigt der Energiebedarf der Menschheit weiter an.[2] Um die Klimaziele des Pariser Abkommen zu erreichen und die Schäden des Klimawandels zu begrenzen, müssen die weltweiten Energiesysteme weitgehend dekarbonisiert werden. Hierfür ist es notwendig, fossile Energieträger durch CO2-arme Formen der Energieerzeugung zu ersetzen.

Dazu reicht der massive Ausbau erneuerbarer Energien, zu dem Deutschland durch die Energiewende einen wichtigen Beitrag geleistet hat, aller Voraussicht nach nicht aus. Das Risiko einer solchen Strategie, weltweit ausschließlich auf Wind und Sonne zu setzen, ist für die Menschheit schlicht zu hoch.

Daher sind weitere Maßnahmen notwendig, deren Förderung bisher allerdings immer noch vernachlässigt wird. Dazu gehört beispielsweise, bereits heute die Methanemissionen in der Öl- und Erdgasförderung möglichst gering zu halten. Dazu gehören aber auch die Entwicklung und der Einsatz von kohlenstoffarmen bzw. -freien Energietechnologien, die die Emissionen aus dem Energie-, Industrie- und Verkehrssektor reduzieren oder sogar ganz beseitigen können, wie beispielsweise die CO2-Abscheidung und -Speicherung (CCS) oder erneuerbare Energien der nächsten Generation, wie fortschrittliche Geothermie, moderne Atomkraftwerke der sogenannten IV. Generation, und kohlenstofffreie Kraftstoffe.

Die Lösung

CATF konzentriert sich darauf, zusätzliche, pragmatische Optionen für eine kohlenstoffarme bzw. -freie Energie- und Treibstofferzeugung zu entwickeln  und die politischen Rahmenbedingungen für eine CO2-ärmere Energieerzeugung zu verbessern. Durch Studien, Initiativen und Meinungsführerschaft treibt CATF seine Anliegen mit einer Kombination aus Forschung, Kommunikation und Politikberatung voran. Dabei versteht CATF sich selbst als überparteilich und technologieoffen und ist global ausgerichtet.

Die Arbeit von CATF umfasst z.B. die folgenden Ziele:

  • Stringente CO2-Grenzwerte für Gas- und Kohlekraftwerke in den USA;
  • Die Ermöglichung der kommerziellen Entwicklung und des Einsatzes von neuartigen kohlenstoffarmen und -freien Energietechnologien in der Stromerzeugung, der Industrie und dem Verkehrssektor; und 
  • Die drastische Reduzierung von klimaschädlichen Super-Schadstoffen wie z.B. Methanemissionen aus der Öl- und Gasindustrie und Ruß aus Dieselfahrzeugen, der Schifffahrt und der Biomasseverbrennung.

CATF konnte in der Vergangenheit bereits große Erfolge erzielen. In den USA hatte CATF beispielsweise erheblichen Anteil an der Einführung von Steuergutschriften für die Speicherung von CO2, die im Inflation Reduction Act 2022 noch einmal erweitert wurden. Ebenso war CATF an der Vorbereitung des Global Methane Pledge beteiligt, der erstmals eine globale Anstrengung zur Bekämpfung von Methanemissionen geschaffen hat. Auf diesen Erfolgen aufbauend arbeitet CATF daran, weitere innovationsfördernde Rahmenbedingungen für kohlenstoff-freie Technologien zu schaffen. 

Bei der industriellen Verarbeitung von Öl und Gas kommt es auch zu hohen Methanemissionen die besonders klimaschädlich sind. Die CATF hat hier erfolgreich für eine stärkere Regulierung gekämpft.
Armond Cohen – Präsident und Gründer der Clean Air Task Force

Die Wirkung

Berechnungen der Initiative Founders Pledge zufolge hat die bisherige Arbeit von CATF dazu beigetragen, dass ca. 116 Millionen Tonnen CO2 bzw. CO2-Äquivalente (CO2e) vermieden werden konnten. Darüber hinaus haben die Maßnahmen auch zu einem reduzierten Ausstoß weiterer Schadstoffe geführt, was schätzungsweise 26.000 vorzeitige Todesfälle durch Luftverschmutzung verhindert hat.

Founders Pledge erwartet, dass auch die zukünftige Arbeit von CATF kosteneffektiv sein wird. Anhand von CATF’s Beitrag zur Einführung des Tax Credits 45Q in den USA errechnet Founders Pledge unter vorsichtigen Annahmen Kosten von 1,63 Dollar je eingesparter Tonne CO2e für die Arbeit von CATF rein für die USA. Durch die Wirkung, die die Steuergutschriften international entfalten, sinken diese auf deutlich unter 1 Dollar je Tonne CO2e im globalen Kontext. 

Geht man davon aus, dass die Arbeit von CATF insgesamt nur 1/10 so wirksam ist wie das Projekt zu 45Q, dann ergeben sich daraus Kosten von ungefähr 1 Dollar je Tonne CO2e. Also trägt jeder an CATF gespendete Euro in etwa dazu bei, weltweit ca. 1 Tonne CO2e einzusparen.[3]

Die Organisation

Die Clean Air Task Force wurde 1996 gegründet als gemeinnützige Non-Profit-Organisation mit Sitz in Boston mit dem Ziel gegründet, sich für die Reduzierung von Treibhausgasen und anderen Schadstoffen einzusetzen.

Seit Gründung hat CATF Gesetzgeber und Regulierungsbehörden in den USA, aber auch Kanada und Mexiko dabei unterstützt, die politischen Rahmenbedingungen für eine CO2-ärmere und saubere Energieerzeugung zu schaffen. In den letzten Jahren hat sich CATF zu einer global agierenden Organisation weiterentwickelt und beschäftigt inzwischen mehr als 100 Mitarbeiter an verschiedenen Standorten weltweit. 

Die beiden Gutachter von Klimaschutzorganisationen Founders Pledge und Giving Green empfehlen beide CATF als jeweils eine von 4 Organisationen im Bereich Klimawandel.

Quellen

[1] ↑ Global direct primary energy consumption. Our World in Data. https://ourworldindata.org/grapher/global-primary-energy?stack Mode=relative.

[2] ↑ International Energy Outlook 2021. U.S. Energy Information Administration. https://www.eia.gov/outlooks/ieo/consumption/sub-topic-03.php. 2021.

[3] ↑ Conservative impact analysis example of innovation in neglected tech, in: A guide to the changing landscape of high-impact climate philanthropy, S. 116. Founders Pledge. https://assets.ctfassets.net/x5sq5djrgbwu/7eEpX4UcKNEy6LUDhf2B05/735518c277987ad5ad91f096b1fdc2a7/A_guide_to_the_changing_landscape_of_high-impact_climate_philanthropy.pdf. 2021. Ergänzend dazu für die ursprünglichen Berechnungen auch Climate Change Cause Area Report, Founders Pledge, 2018 sowie das begleitende Berechnungsmodell.