Against Malaria Foundation

Against Malaria Foundation Logo

Mosquito nets against malaria

The Against Malaria Foundation (AMF) saves lives by distributing mosquito nets in developing countries to protect people from malaria. As the mosquitoes that transmit malaria are nocturnal, the risk of contracting malaria is significantly reduced if you sleep under a mosquito net. In the fifteen years between 2000 and 2015, the use of mosquito nets prevented around 450 million cases of malaria and saved around 900,000 lives.

The problem

Over the past two decades, significant successes have been achieved in the fight against malaria. According to estimates by the World Health Organization WHO two billion illnesses and almost twelve million deaths could be prevented between 2000 and 2021.[1] However, progress has stagnated since 2015 and the number of cases even rose again during the Covid-19 pandemic in 2020 and 2021.

Almost 250 million people worldwide still contract malaria every year, especially on the African continent.[2] The disease is fatal for more than 600,000 of them.[3] Over 70 percent of the fatalities are children under the age of five - that's over 1,000 children a day.[4] Every fourteenth child who dies worldwide dies of malaria; in sub-Saharan Africa it is one in eight.[5] 

Even if the disease is not fatal, people suffer enormously. In addition to flu-like symptoms, malaria can lead to permanent visual impairment, hearing loss or epilepsy. The life situation of sufferers worsens not only because they have to pay for visits to the doctor and medication, but also because they cannot go to school or work during an acute attack.

The solution

The best way to avoid contracting malaria is not to be bitten in the first place. The mosquitoes that transmit malaria are particularly active at dusk and at night. Long-lasting insecticide-treated mosquito nets therefore provide very reliable protection against the disease. The mosquito nets are made of polyethylene fibers. An insecticide is incorporated into these fibers in such a way that it slowly leaks out over several years.

A mosquito net thus protects in two ways: firstly, mosquitoes are physically prevented from biting humans. Secondly, the mosquitoes die on contact with the insecticide. The odorless insecticide is harmless to human health. Since 2007, the World Health Organization has recommended that insecticide-impregnated mosquito nets be distributed to every household in malaria regions.[6] As mosquitoes in many areas are now developing resistance to the pesticides, the nets increasingly have to be treated with other active substances, meaning that the WHO recommendations are constantly being developed and adapted.[7]

Mosquito nets are the most widely used measure to combat malaria. According to the WHO around 2.5 billion impregnated mosquito nets for malaria prevention have been distributed worldwide since 2005.[8]

Moksito nets (Alternative text)
Two children from Pujehun in Sierra Leone are happy about mosquito nets
A little girl holds a mosquito net.
A little girl from Odisha (Orissa) in India holds a mosquito net she received as part of a distribution campaign supported by the Against Malaria Foundation.

The effect

The extraordinarily high effectiveness of mosquito nets has been proven in several studies. A meta-study from 2004 shows that, on average, 5.5 out of 1,000 children who sleep under mosquito nets can be prevented from dying of malaria every year - a very high figure when you consider how simple it is to distribute nets for 1,000 children.[9]

Other studies show that pregnant women who sleep under mosquito nets give birth to healthier babies and have fewer stillbirths.[10] In the fifteen years between 2000 and 2015, around 450 million malaria infections in Africa were prevented by mosquito nets and around 900,000 lives were saved.[11]

The economic benefits of a reduction in malaria infections are also immense: a study that measured the correlation between expenditure on malaria control and gross domestic product in twelve African countries between 2007 and 2011 came to the conclusion that every €1 spent on malaria control increased the countries' gross domestic product by €6.75 - an extraordinarily high figure.[12]

The organization

The Against Malaria Foundation was founded in 2005 by Rob Mather and has since financed almost 250 million mosquito nets. Since 2009 AMF by GiveWell as a "Top Charity". In addition to its outstanding impact, the organization also stands out positively from many other aid organizations thanks to its transparency: For example, the Against Malaria Foundation publishes their own budget in real time and also publicly states which donation was made for exactly which net .


Blog articles

  • Fighting poverty: 2023 review
    Fighting poverty: 2023 review

    A look back at the work and successes of our top recommendations in the area of fighting poverty in 2023.

  • Are the Mosquitoes gaining the upper hand?
    Are the Mosquitoes gaining the upper hand?

    "The Mosquitos Are Winning" writes the New York Times. We explain why doubts about mosquito nets are nevertheless unfounded and why we should rather take the challenges as an opportunity to do even more to get closer to the goal of eradicating malaria.

  • World Malaria Day 2023
    World Malaria Day 2023

    Our fundraising campaign for World Malaria Day 2023.

FAQs

How long do the mosquito nets protect?

A durable, insecticide-impregnated mosquito net can provide protection for up to five years. During this time, it can also be washed without losing its protective effect. Thanks to the insecticide it contains, the net remains effective even if it already has small holes.

How much does a mosquito net cost?

AMF only distributes durable, insecticide-impregnated mosquito nets that meet the requirements of the Pesticide Evaluation Scheme of the WHO. AMF estimates the cost of buying a mosquito net at around $2. If the costs of distributing and checking the distributed mosquito nets are also taken into account, the costs amount to $4.89, or $5.19 if donations in kind from governments are also taken into account. [13]

Are the mosquito nets used for other purposes, for example as fishing nets?

There are repeated reports of mosquito nets distributed free of charge being misused, e.g. as fishing nets. However, the number of such cases is very low. The Against Malaria Foundation makes home visits to ensure that the nets are hung up correctly and used for as long as possible. In addition, the organization has been one of the first aid organizations to use smartphones in the field since 2014, which makes monitoring even more effective and detailed.[14]

External evaluation

Sources

[1] ↑ World malaria report 2022, World Health Organization (WHO). https://www.who.int/teams/global-malaria-programme/reports/world-malaria-report-2022. December 2022.

[2] ↑ World malaria report 2022, World Health Organization (WHO). https://www.who.int/teams/global-malaria-programme/reports/world-malaria-report-2022. December 2022.

[3] ↑ The World Health Organization states 619,000 deaths in the "World malaria report 2022". Based on a slightly different methodology, the "Global Burden of Disease (GBD) Project, estimates that more than 643,000 people worldwide died from malaria in 2019. See also: Max Roser and Hannah Ritchie. Malaria. Our World in Data. https://ourworldindata.org/malaria. Last updated February 2022.

[4] ↑ Max Roser. Malaria: One of the leading causes of child deaths, but progress is possible and you can contribute to it. Our World in Data. https://ourworldindata.org/malaria-introduction. March 2022. See in particular footnotes 2 & 3 of the source: The WHO estimates that around three quarters of all deaths will be among children under the age of 5, i.e. more than 450,000 in 2021. "Global Burden of Disease"-study estimates that the majority of malaria deaths affect children under the age of 5. According to their research, the proportion of children under 5 years of age among malaria victims has decreased slightly over the last generation, from 66 % in 1990 to 55 % in 2019. This corresponds to 356,000 deaths among children under 5 years of age in 2019. It is not entirely clear why the IHME estimates differ in their age composition from the WHO estimates.

[5] ↑ Institute of Health Metrics and Evaluation (IHME). Malaria. Global Burden of Disease Study 2019. https://www.healthdata.org/results/gbd_summaries/2019/malaria-level-3-cause. October 2020. 

[6] ↑ WHO Guidelines for Malaria. World Health Organization. https://www.who.int/teams/global-malaria-programme/guidelines-for-malaria. March 2023. 

[7] ↑ WHO publishes recommendations on two new types of insecticide-treated nets. World Health Organization. https://www.who.int/news/item/14-03-2023-who-publishes-recommendations-on-two-new-types-of-insecticide-treated-nets. March 2023. 

[8] ↑ World malaria report 2022, World Health Organization (WHO). https://www.who.int/teams/global-malaria-programme/reports/world-malaria-report-2022. December 2022. 

[9] ↑ Christian Lengeler. Insecticide-treated bed nets and curtains for preventing malaria. Cochrane Database of Systematic Reviews. https://www.ncbi.nlm.nih.gov/pubmed/15106149. 2014. 

[10] ↑ Carrol Gamble et al. Insecticide-treated nets for preventing malaria in pregnancy. Cochrane Database of Systematic Reviews. https://www.ncbi.nlm.nih.gov/pubmed/16625591. 2006. 

[11] ↑ Samit Bhatt et al. The effect of malaria control on Plasmodium falciparum in Africa between 2000 and 2015 Nature 526: 207-211. https://www.ncbi.nlm.nih.gov/pmc/articles/PMC4820050/. October 2015.

[12] ↑ William Jobin. Suppression of malaria transmission and increases in economic productivity in African countries from 2007 to 2011. MalariaWorld Journal. Vol 5. No. 4. https://www.malariaworld.org/malariaworld-journal/research-suppression-malaria-transmission-and-increases-economic-productivity-african. March 2014.

[13] ↑ Against Malaria Foundation - Cost per LLIN distributed. GiveWell. https://www.givewell.org/charities/amf#CostperLLINdistributed. December 2022.

[14] ↑ Rob Mather. Introduction of smartphone technology to collect distribution data. Against Malaria Foundation. https://www.againstmalaria.com/NewsItem.aspx?newsitem=Introduction-of-smartphone-technology-to-collect-distribution-data. October 2014.

Against Malaria Foundation

Against Malaria Foundation Logo

Moskitonetze gegen Malaria

Die Against Malaria Foundation (AMF) rettet Leben, indem sie Moskitonetze in Entwicklungsländern verteilt, die Menschen vor Malaria schützen. Da die Moskitos, die Malaria übertragen, nachtaktiv sind, reduziert sich das Risiko an Malaria zu erkranken deutlich, wenn man unter einem Moskitonetz schläft. In den fünfzehn Jahren zwischen 2000 und 2015 konnten durch den Einsatz von Moskitonetzen etwa 450 Millionen Fälle von Malaria verhindert und ca. 900.000 Menschenleben gerettet werden.

Das Problem

In den vergangenen zwei Jahrzehnten wurden deutliche Erfolge im Kampf gegen Malaria erzielt. Nach Schätzungen der Weltgesundheitsorganisation WHO konnten zwischen 2000 und 2021 zwei Milliarden Erkrankungen und fast zwölf Millionen Todesfälle verhindert werden.[1] Allerdings stagnieren die Fortschritte seit 2015 und die Zahl der Erkrankungen ist während der Covid-19 Pandemie in den Jahren 2020 und 2021 sogar wieder angestiegen.

So erkranken jedes Jahr weltweit immer noch fast 250 Millionen Menschen an Malaria, vor allem auf dem afrikanischen Kontinent.[2] Für mehr als 600.000 von ihnen endet die Krankheit tödlich.[3] Über 70 Prozent der Todesopfer sind Kinder unter fünf Jahren – das sind über 1.000 Kinder pro Tag.[4] Jedes vierzehnte Kind, das weltweit stirbt, stirbt an Malaria; in Sub-Sahara-Afrika ist es sogar jedes achte.[5] 

Auch bei einem nicht tödlichen Verlauf der Krankheit leiden die Menschen enorm. Neben grippeähnlichen Symptomen kann Malaria zu dauerhaften Einschränkungen des Sehvermögens, des Gehörs oder zu Epilepsie führen. Die Lebenssituation der Erkrankten verschlechtert sich nicht nur, weil sie Geld für Arztbesuche und Medikamente aufbringen müssen, sondern auch, weil sie während eines akuten Schubs weder zur Schule noch zur Arbeit gehen können.

Die Lösung

Die beste Methode, nicht an Malaria zu erkranken, ist gar nicht erst gestochen zu werden. Die Moskitos, die Malaria übertragen, sind vor allem in der Dämmerung und nachts aktiv. Daher schützen langlebige, mit Insektizid behandelte Moskitonetze sehr zuverlässig vor der Krankheit. Die Moskitonetze bestehen aus Polyethylenfasern. In diese Fasern ist ein Insektizid so eingearbeitet, dass es über mehrere Jahre hinweg langsam austritt.

Ein Moskitonetz schützt somit auf zwei Arten: Zum einen werden Moskitos physisch davon abgehalten, Menschen zu stechen. Zum anderen kommen die Moskitos beim Kontakt mit dem Insektizid um. Für den Menschen ist das geruchlose Insektizid gesundheitlich unbedenklich. Die Weltgesundheitsorganisation empfiehlt seit 2007, insektizidimprägnierte Moskitonetze an jeden Haushalt in Malaria-Gebieten zu verteilen.[6] Da Moskitos in vielen Gebieten inzwischen Resistenzen gegen die Pestizide entwickeln, müssen die Netze zunehmend auch mit anderen Wirkstoffen behandelt werden, so dass die Empfehlungen der WHO kontinuierlich weiterentwickelt und angepasst werden.[7]

Moskitonetze sind die am weitesten verbreitete Maßnahme zur Bekämpfung von Malaria. Laut WHO wurden seit 2005 weltweit etwa 2,5 Milliarden imprägnierte Moskitonetze zur Malariaprophylaxe verteilt.[8]

Moksitonetze (Alternativer Text)
Zwei Kinder aus Pujehun in Sierra Leone freuen sich über Moksitonetze
Ein kleines Mädchen hält ein Moskitonetz fest.
Ein kleines Mädchen aus Odisha (Orissa) in Indien hält ein Moskitonetz fest, welches es im Rahmen einer von der Against Malaria Foundation unterstützten Verteilaktion erhalten hat.

Die Wirkung

Die außerordentlich hohe Wirkung von Moskitonetzen konnte in mehreren Studien nachgewiesen werden. Eine Metastudie aus dem Jahr 2004 zeigt, dass im Durchschnitt jedes Jahr 5,5 von 1.000 Kindern, die unter Moskitonetzen schlafen, davor bewahrt werden können, an Malaria zu sterben – eine sehr hohe Zahl, wenn man bedenkt, wie simpel es ist, Netze für 1.000 Kinder zu verteilen.[9]

Weitere Studien belegen, dass schwangere Frauen, die unter Moskitonetzen schlafen, gesündere Babys auf die Welt bringen und weniger Totgeburten haben.[10] Insgesamt konnten in den fünfzehn Jahren zwischen 2000 und 2015 in Afrika etwa 450 Millionen Malariainfektionen durch Moskitonetze verhindert und ca. 900.000 Menschenleben gerettet werden.[11]

Auch die wirtschaftlichen Vorteile eines Rückgangs von Malaria-Infektionen sind immens: eine Studie, die in zwölf afrikanischen Ländern den Zusammenhang zwischen Ausgaben für die Malariabekämpfung und dem Bruttoinlandsprodukt in den Jahren 2007 bis 2011 gemessen hat, kommt zu dem Schluss, dass jeder 1 €, der für die Malariabekämpfung  ausgegeben wurde, das Bruttoinlandsprodukts der Länder um 6,75 € erhöht hat – ein außerordentlich hoher Wert.[12]

Die Organisation

Die Against Malaria Foundation wurde 2005 von Rob Mather gegründet und hat seitdem fast 250 Millionen Moskitonetze finanziert. Bereits seit 2009 wird AMF von GiveWell als „Top-Hilfsorganisation“ empfohlen. Die Organisation hebt sich neben ihrer herausragenden Wirkung vor allem auch durch ihre Transparenz positiv von vielen anderen Hilfsorganisationen ab: So veröffentlicht die Against Malaria Foundation das eigene Budget in Echtzeit und gibt außerdem öffentlich an, welche Spende für genau welche Netze ausgegeben wurde.


Blogartikel

  • Armut bekämpfen: Rückblick 2023
    Armut bekämpfen: Rückblick 2023

    Ein Rückblick auf die Arbeit und Erfolge unserer Top-Empfehlungen im Bereich Armut bekämpfen im Jahr 2023.

  • Gewinnen die Moskitos die Oberhand?
    Gewinnen die Moskitos die Oberhand?

    „The Mosquitos Are Winning“ schreibt die New York Times. Wir erklären, warum Zweifel an Moskitonetzen dennoch unbegründet sind und wir die Herausforderungen eher zum Anlass nehmen sollten, noch mehr zu tun, um dem Ziel einer Ausrottung von Malaria näherzukommen.

  • Weltmalaria­tag 2023
    Weltmalaria­tag 2023

    Unsere Spenden-Kampagne zum Weltmalariatag 2023.

Häufige Fragen

Wie lange schützen die Moskitonetze?

Ein langlebiges, insektizidimprägniertes Moskitonetz kann bis zu fünf Jahre Schutz bieten. Während dieser Zeit kann es auch gewaschen werden, ohne seine schützende Wirkung zu verlieren. Durch das eingearbeitete Insektizid bleibt das Netz selbst dann noch wirksam, wenn es bereits kleinere Löcher hat.

Was kostet ein Moskitonetz?

AMF verteilt ausschließlich langlebige, insektizid-imprägnierte Moskitonetze, die den Anforderungen des Pesticide Evaluation Scheme der WHO entsprechen. AMF gibt die Kosten für den Kauf eines Moskitonetzes mit etwa $2 an. Werden zusätzlich die Kosten für die Verteilung und Überprüfung der verteilten Moskitonetze berücksichtigt, betragen die Kosten $4,89, bzw. $5,19, wenn auch Sachspenden von Regierungen berücksichtigt werden. [13]

Werden die Moskitonetze zweckentfremdet, zum Beispiel als Fischernetz?

Es gibt immer wieder Berichte, dass kostenlos verteilte Moskitonetze zweckentfremdet werden, z.B. als Fischernetz. Die Zahl solcher Fälle ist allerdings sehr gering. Die Against Malaria Foundation stellt durch Hausbesuche sicher, dass die Netze korrekt aufgehängt und möglichst lange verwendet werden. Darüber hinaus nutzt die Organisation bereits seit 2014 als eine der ersten Hilfsorganisationen Smartphones im Feld, was das Monitoring noch effektiver und detaillierter macht.[14]

Externe Evaluation

Quellen

[1] ↑ World malaria report 2022. Weltgesundheitsorganisation (WHO). https://www.who.int/teams/global-malaria-programme/reports/world-malaria-report-2022. Dezember 2022.

[2] ↑ World malaria report 2022. Weltgesundheitsorganisation (WHO). https://www.who.int/teams/global-malaria-programme/reports/world-malaria-report-2022. Dezember 2022.

[3] ↑ Die Weltgesundheitsorganisation nennt im „World malaria report 2022“ 619.000 Todesfälle. Auf Basis einer etwas anderen Methodik schätzt das „Global Burden of Disease“ (GBD)-Projekt, dass im Jahr 2019 weltweit mehr als 643.000 Menschen an Malaria gestorben sind. Siehe dazu auch: Max Roser and Hannah Ritchie. Malaria. Our World in Data. https://ourworldindata.org/malaria. Zuletzt aktualisiert Februar 2022.

[4] ↑ Max Roser. Malaria: One of the leading causes of child deaths, but progress is possible and you can contribute to it. Our World in Data. https://ourworldindata.org/malaria-introduction. März 2022. Siehe dazu insbesondere die Fußnoten 2 & 3 der Quelle: Die WHO schätzt, dass etwa drei Viertel aller Todesfälle auf Kinder unter 5 Jahren entfallen, also mehr als 450.000 in 2021. Auch die Studie „Global Burden of Disease“-Studie schätzt, dass die Mehrheit der Malaria-Todesfälle Kinder unter 5 Jahren betrifft. Nach ihren Untersuchungen ist der Anteil der Kinder unter 5 Jahren an den Malariaopfern im Laufe der letzten Generation leicht gesunken, von 66 % im Jahr 1990 auf 55 % im Jahr 2019. Das entspricht 356.000 Todesfällen bei Kindern unter 5 Jahren in 2019. Warum die Schätzungen des IHME in ihrer Alterszusammensetzung von den WHO-Schätzungen abweichen, ist nicht vollständig klar.

[5] ↑ Institute of Health Metrics and Evaluation (IHME). Malaria. Global Burden of Disease-Studie 2019. https://www.healthdata.org/results/gbd_summaries/2019/malaria-level-3-cause. Oktober 2020. 

[6] ↑ WHO Guidelines for Malaria. Weltgesundheitsorganisation. https://www.who.int/teams/global-malaria-programme/guidelines-for-malaria. März 2023. 

[7] ↑ WHO publishes recommendations on two new types of insecticide-treated nets. Weltgesundheitsorganisation. https://www.who.int/news/item/14-03-2023-who-publishes-recommendations-on-two-new-types-of-insecticide-treated-nets. März 2023. 

[8] ↑ World malaria report 2022. Weltgesundheitsorganisation (WHO). https://www.who.int/teams/global-malaria-programme/reports/world-malaria-report-2022. Dezember 2022. 

[9] ↑ Christian Lengeler. Insecticide-treated bed nets and curtains for preventing malaria. Cochrane Database of Systematic Reviews. https://www.ncbi.nlm.nih.gov/pubmed/15106149. 2014. 

[10] ↑ Carrol Gamble et al. Insecticide-treated nets for preventing malaria in pregnancy. Cochrane Database of Systematic Reviews. https://www.ncbi.nlm.nih.gov/pubmed/16625591. 2006. 

[11] ↑ Samit Bhatt et al. The effect of malaria control on Plasmodium falciparum in Africa between 2000 and 2015. Nature 526: 207–211. https://www.ncbi.nlm.nih.gov/pmc/articles/PMC4820050/. Oktober 2015.

[12] ↑ William Jobin. Suppression of malaria transmission and increases in economic productivity in African countries from 2007 to 2011. MalariaWorld Journal. Vol 5. No. 4. https://www.malariaworld.org/malariaworld-journal/research-suppression-malaria-transmission-and-increases-economic-productivity-african. März 2014.

[13] ↑ Against Malaria Foundation – Cost per LLIN distributed. GiveWell. https://www.givewell.org/charities/amf#CostperLLINdistributed. Dezember 2022.

[14] ↑ Rob Mather. Introduction of smartphone technology to collect distribution data. Against Malaria Foundation. https://www.againstmalaria.com/NewsItem.aspx?newsitem=Introduction-of-smartphone-technology-to-collect-distribution-data. Oktober 2014.